so here’s my recession post. as most of them start…

“in times like these…” wah wah wah…yes, most everyone is po’ these days and just trying to stretch that dollar.

so the original. most everyone knows how much I just lurrrrv my pizzeria mozza

my favorite:  cured pork cheeks (guancaile), radicchio, escarole,  bagna cauda and a softly fried egg on top (I heart eggs and runny yolk)

the pizza was just f-ing amazing. dough, crust, toppings, WOWMOMWOW. and then dessert …just blew me away

 

budino

BUTTERSCOTCH BUDINO….butterscotch, caramel, cream, sea salt HEAVEN in ur mouth *tearrrrrr*

mozza32

*in my best uncle jessie voice* “oh lord, have mercaaaaayyyyyyy” (yes, a private moment with budino and I)

NOW, I present to u the poor man’s version of this, pitfire pizza.

okok, before u start whining  “OH HELLZZ NAAAH,”……the best kept secret is pitfires’s m-f happy hour where ALL pizzas as 50% off (hef and fat tire on tap, $3 a pint, adds to the cheer). the pizza itself is VERY good. no, it’s not mozza but I’d say its 65-70% there. YEAH, COUNT IT, I SAID IT.

and when the pizza’s about $5 (!!) at happy hour, can u REALLY complain? (no headaches with impossible reservations, no valet, easy street parking after 6 (in downtown), 3 locations, easy seating, and RIDICULOUSLY cheap prices)

I present to u the pitfire’s poor mans version of my favorite pizza from mozza

pitfire2

better than average dr seuss’ version of green, eggs, and ham: organic rapini, baked egg, and prosciutto with truffle oil (!) YUM.

and for all u foodies, yes even jonathan gold waxes poetically about pitfire’s neopolitan pizzas in la weekly,

“…the pies given a slow, two day rise and fired on the floor of a ceramic oven, are superb examples of the neopolitan manner, tinged with smoke, fresh mozzarella browned at its top like a toasted marshmallow and other high quality ingredients blackened and sizzling and crisp…”

we honestly inhaled this pizza as deliciously and quickly as mozza’s. $5, people!! and this isn’t dominos or little caesar’s. this is a legit, absolutely delicious, neopolitan pizza (crunch, crisp, slightly doughy, high quality toppings, yummy proscuitto, decadent truffle oil, runny yolk, runny yolk, runny yolk!!)

I also had my fun with the dessert here as I tried my very first aunty em’s red velvet cupcake with cream cheese frosting.

cake

just the smell of it was so tempting but I promised matthew to wait patiently until I was done with my pizza. so needless to say, come time for dessert…

 

redvelvet

ATTACK!!!!!!!!!!!  (ok, I cheated a little. note the “finger” of frosting missing :P)

extremely moist red velvet cake and that buttery rich cream cheese frosting….oh myyyyyy….soooooooo good. I know that douchebag, bobbly flay challenged aunty em’s in a cupcake throwdown in which he won, but aunty em’s win’s my vote for best red velvet cupcake in the city!

on our last visit to pitfire, we were shocked to learn they SOUS VIDE their meats! (check out their current daily specials) yes, thomas keller style, this is the real deal. for those who don’t own thomas keller’s gorgeous sous vide book, under pressure, like I do or have heard of the cooking technique:

sous vide: French for “under vacuum”, is a method of cooking that is intended to maintain the integrity of ingredients by heating them for an extended period of time at relatively low temperatures. Food is cooked for a long time, sometimes well over 24 hours. Unlike cooking in a slow cooker, sous-vide cooking uses airtight plastic bgas placed in hot water well below boiling point (usually around 60°C or 140°F).

u won’t find this at ANY restaurant of this caliber sous-freakin-vide their meats at these totally affordable prices. their current consulting chef even gave us a tour of this wonderous sous vide machine downstairs with packages and packages of brisket, lamb chops, chicken, etc tenderizing by the minute. AMAZING.

and if u can’t make it at happy hour, pitfire takes restaurant.com coupons too. they even have a great valentines deal. fine dining at affordable prices at its best….and that’s how u can roll, cheap AND cheerful 🙂

 

pizzeria mozza, 641 n highland ave, los angeles, CA 90036. (323) 297-0101 www.mozza-la.com

pitfire pizza company, 108 w 2nd st, los angeles, CA 90012. (213) 808-1200 www.pitfirepizza.com 

(locations also in westwood and n. hollywood)

